History of LSCO

Lamar State College Orange: 55 Years logo

Lamar University opened its first extension center in Orange in the fall of 1969 with classes in the former Tilley Elementary School. In 1971 the Texas Legislature passed legislation allowing Lamar University to operate a two-year educational center, thus removing the extension status and allowing students to take two full years of coursework on the Orange campus.

In 1971 fire destroyed the building, and a spirited community-wide fundraising effort netted more than $250,000 for the purchase of the former Sabine Supply Company building, located at 410 Front St., Orange. Classes began at the new location in the fall of 1971.

Since that time facilities, enrollment and course offerings have grown steadily. Instructional programs are offered in five divisions: liberal arts, mathematics and science, business and technology, education and allied health.

The Texas Legislature authorized the creation of the Lamar University System in 1983, and in 1991 the legislature provided degree-granting authority to LU-O. Effective Sept. 1, 1995, LU-O, along with sister institutions in Port Arthur and Beaumont, became part of the Texas State University System. With system offices in Austin, the TSUS also includes Sam Houston State University, Texas State University-San Marcos, and Sul Ross State University.

During the 1999 legislative session, Lamar University-Orange was officially renamed Lamar State College Orange (LSCO), and funds totaling nearly $10 million were authorized for a new main building, a central plant and campus infrastructure. The building was occupied in May 2001.

In September 2008, the campus sustained substantial damage due to Hurricane Ike. Because of the flood damage, furniture, fixtures, lab equipment, and computers were replaced for several buildings.

Lamar State College Orange currently has a student body of approximately 3,100. Two-year academic programs are offered in business, communication, computer science, criminal justice, education, liberal arts, theater, natural science and sociology. These academic programs lead to associate of science degrees and will transfer to four-year institutions for students seeking baccalaureate degrees. Thirty technical programs are available, leading to associate of applied science degrees, certificates of completion and institutional awards. Some of these degrees include process operating and industrial technology, instrumentation, and medical office. Customized training programs to meet the needs of local business and industry and offered through the Continuing and Workforce Education Department.

Next Steps