Rogers Community Service Awards

July 1, 2024

Established in 1979 through a generous gift from Julie and Ben Rogers, the Rogers Community Service Award is awarded annually to a member of faculty or staff who has made a significant contribution to community service in the Golden Triangle. One recipient from each institution is chosen annually from Lamar University, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lamar State College Orange, and Lamar State College- Port Arthur.

Selection Criteria:

  • All members of the campus faculty and staff below the rank of Vice-President are eligible for nomination.
  • Nominations may be made by students, faculty, staff, or members of the community.
  • Previous recipients of the award are not eligible includings Kevin Doss and Tara Lanphar.
  • Using the nomination form below, nominators should consider the following during the nomination process:
    • Voluntary community service related to civic, cultural, religious, or general education service;
    • Community service in collaboration with Lamar State College Orange;
    • Program contributions to community organizations (speeches and program appearances, judging and evaluative services, etc.).

Next Steps